My TV addiction.

I have been watching far too much television in the last two weeks. It all started out when I downloaded the first season of Ally McBeal. I had been talking about it with the Husband – how we were both fans as teenagers and we had wanted to watch it again. I’d been having loads of trouble getting off to sleep at night so I started watching episode after episode of Ally.

Then, I remembered I was missing out on Glee – Channel 10 were too far in front for me to understand what the heck was going on, so I grabbed that too. After that, I stumbled in to Danielle’s post about what she’s been watching on TV over at Hello Owl and a true TV addiction was formed.

So when I’m not on Twitter moaning about how bored I am or talking to the Husband on iMessage, I’m usually watching one of these shows:

Hart of Dixie

Fast-talking New Yorker and brand new doctor Zoe Hart has it all figured out—after graduating top of her class from medical school, she’ll follow in her father’s footsteps and become a cardio-thoracic surgeon. But when her dreams fall apart, Zoe decides to accept an offer from a stranger, Dr. Harley Wilkes, to work with him at his small practice in Bluebell, Alabama. Zoe arrives in this small Gulf Coast town only to find that Harley has passed away and left his half of the medical practice to her in his will.

Now, I loved Rachel Bilson as Summer in The OC and when I discovered that this show was created and produced by the same people involved in The OC, I knew I’d be booked. Funny, emotional and with the added benefit of some serious eye candy in the form of George Tucker & Wade Kinsella, I fell in love as soon as I finished the first episode.

New Girl

The series stars Zooey Deschanel as Jessica “Jess” Day, a well-liked, bubbly woman in her late 20s who is trying to get over her breakup with her boyfriend after he cheats on her. She eventually finds a new place to stay when she moves in with three guys: Nick, a bartender; Schmidt, a professional and modern-day Casanova; and Winston, a former basketball player. Rounding out this unlikely bunch is Jessica’s street-smart model friend Cece.

When I first read the plot summary for this on Wikipedia, I wasn’t so sure about this show. I downloaded the pilot to see if I liked it and boy, was I shocked. It’s so funny and so sweet. Zooey does a fantastic job playing Jess and her housemates are just so funny. I’d love to live in their house!

Pan Am

Pan Am is an American period drama television series named for the iconic Pan American World Airways, the series focuses on the pilots and stewardesses of the airline as it operated in the early 1960s at the beginning of the commercial jet age.

Danielle already wrote about Pan Am, and that’s where I got the idea to watch it. Not only do I now have a massive girl crush on Karine Vanasse, who plays French stewardess Colette Valois, but I’m seriously wishing that I could be a stewardess too! Now sadly, it looks like the rumors are true and ABC is going to cancel Pan Am after it’s first season has finished showing in the States, so make sure to catch it whilst you can.

7 comments
  1. All three of these shows are on my to-watch list – I’ve been hearing about them on twitter from US friends for weeks/months! Just waiting for them to be picked up here. I see New Girl with be on Ch 10 in the new year, yay! Although some folk have said it is just a show about Zooey being Zooey (ie. acting all dorkably adorkable, which is some hipster-cool thing) I still think I’d like it because I like her so much. Have you seen her in Yes Man? So great.

    • Jade said:

      I haven’t seen Yes Man, so I need to get that immediately because I have Zooey fever! Yes, I definitely think that New Girl is Zooey being Zooey but since I actually like that, it’s a good thing. Unfortunately, I don’t think it will last for more than one of two seasons though.

  2. Bee said:

    I haven’t really gotten into Pan Am, but I really like Hart of Dixie and New Girl. Both great shows!

    • Jade said:

      I’m not liking this whole “Christmas” break thing going on with the US television networks though! I can’t possibly wait to see what’s going to happen next on HoD! I’ll bust a gut if Lemon & LaVon don’t hook up soon.

  3. I love Hart of Dixie!!! I agree with Jade, I hate the Christmas break thing going on. But at the same time I’m glad though so I can focus on shopping for Christmas and getting ready for the holidays.

    • Oops, sorry I didn’t realize YOU were Jade. Haha, still new to your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

